Donate     Search    
Home  |   About FDPRI  |   Institute Publications  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Important Facts
About Dr. Patterson
History and Accomplishments
Description of Organization
Mission Statement
Research Agenda
Advisory Board Members
Contact Us

Advisory Board Members

Bryan Cook, Ph.D.
Bryan J. Cook is the Director of the Center for Policy Analysis at the American Council on Education (ACE). Dr. Cook designs and conducts in-depth analyses on current higher education topics and emerging federal policy issues in support of ACE's legislative agenda. Most recently Dr. Cook has done extensive work on the Higher Education Opportunity Act of 2008 and The American Recover and Reinvestment Act of 2009.
Read More
Michelle Asha Cooper, Ph.D.
Michelle Asha Cooper is the president of the Institute for Higher Education Policy (IHEP). She is considered a respected education leader who has spent a career dedicated to and rooted in the postsecondary community. Cooper has held various leadership positions at the Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance at the U.S. Department of Education, Association of American Colleges and Universities, Council for Independent Colleges, and King's College. Read More
James E. Davis, Ph.D.
James Earl Davis is Interim Dean of the College of Education at Temple University. He is a professor higher education and former chair in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies. Professor Davis earned a B.A. in sociology from Morehouse College, a Ph.D. from Cornell University, and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in the Division of Education Policy at the Educational Testing Service, Princeton, NJ. Read More
Marybeth Gasman, Ph.D.
After 10 years in college and university administration, Dr. Gasman received a Ph.D. in higher education from Indiana University in 2000. She came to Penn as an assistant professor in 2003. She received the Association for the Study of Higher Education's Promising Scholar/Early Career Award given in honor of a scholar's body of scholarship in 2006. In 2008, Dr. Gasman was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure and also won the Penn Excellence in Teaching Award. Read More
Walter M. Kimbrough, Ph.D.
A native of Atlanta, Dr. Walter M. Kimbrough was his high school salutatorian and student body president in 1985, and went on to earn degrees from the University of Georgia, Miami University in Ohio, and a doctorate in higher education from Georgia State University. He has enjoyed a fulfilling career in student affairs, serving at Emory University, Georgia State University, Old Dominion University, and finally Albany State University in 2000 where he became the Vice President for Student Affairs at the age of 32. In October of 2004, at the age of 37, he was named the 12th president of Philander Smith College, and became known as the Hip-Hop President. On July 1, 2012, Dr. Walter M. Kimbrough began his appointment as the seventh president of Dillard University. Read More
Shirley A. R. Lewis, Ph. D.
Shirley A. R. Lewis is President Emerita of Paine College, where she served as the institution’s first woman president from July 1, 1994 until her retirement on June 30, 2007. During her tenure, Paine College received the reaffirmation of accreditation by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) without sanction, attained accreditation of its teacher education and business administration programs, and successfully placed its graduates in many of the nation’s top graduate schools. Under Lewis’s leadership, Paine College also increased its enrollment, increased its endowment, and maintained its fiscal viability.Read More
James T. Minor, Ph.D.
James T. Minor is the Senior Program Officer and Director of Higher Education Programs at the Southern Education Foundation (SEF) located in Atlanta, Georgia. Dr. Minor directs the Center to Serve HBCUs and leads higher education programs aimed at enhancing post-secondary access and opportunity for low-income and minority students. Read More
Michael Nettles, Ph.D.
Michael Nettles is the Senior Research Director of the Policy Evaluation and Research Center in the Research and Development Division at Educational Testing Service (ETS) in Princeton, NJ. A prominent national policy researcher on educational assessment, student performance and achievement, educational equity, and higher education finance and accountability policies, he is the first Edmund W. Gordon Chair for Policy Evaluation and Research at ETS. Read More
Copyright Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute 2010 - Present  |  Privacy Statement  |  Terms of Use      Login
©United Negro College Fund, Inc. All Rights Reserved. | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy | Linking Policy | EEO Policy | Frequently Asked Questions